Summit of CPLP Approves Qatar's Accession as 'Associate Observer'

Summit of CPLP Approves Qatar's Accession as 'Associate Observer' By Qatar Day - July 19, 2021

HE Ambassador Qatar to Portugal Saad bin Ali Al Mohannadi along with other officials

The 13th Summit of Heads of State and Government of the Community of Portuguese-Speaking Countries (CPLP), which was held in Luanda, approved the accession of the State of Qatar to the Community as an "Associate Observer".

HE Ambassador of the State of Qatar to the Republic of Portugal Saad bin Ali Al Mohannadi participated in the closing session of the Council of Foreign Ministers of the Community in Luanda, which preceded the summit.

Qatar's accession to the Community reflects its global development role and is within the framework of the multilateral international cooperation strategy pursued by the State to cooperate for development and enhance cultural exchange with all countries and peoples.

At the end of 2018, the State of Qatar submitted a request to join the CPLP as a "Associate Observer", out of its keenness to strengthen its relations with the countries of the Community and to deepen the bonds of friendship and cooperation in all fields.

The Community of Portuguese-Speaking Countries was created on July 17, 1996. It is an international organization made up of 9 countries: the Republic of Angola, the Federative Republic of Brazil, the Republic of Portugal, the Democratic Republic of East Timor, the Republic of Cape Verde, the Democratic Republic of Sao Tome and Principe, the Republic of Equatorial Guinea, the Republic of Guinea-Bissau and the Republic of Mozambique, and 28 countries as associate observers.

The principles on which the Community is based include equality among all member states, non-interference in internal affairs, respect for national identity, reciprocity, respect for territorial integrity, promotion of democratic practices, good governance and respect for human rights.

In addition to the State of Qatar, the accession of Canada, the United States of America, Ireland, the Kingdom of Spain, the Republic of India, the Republic of Cte d'Ivoire, the Republic of Peru, the Republic of Greece and Romania was approved. (QNA)

By Qatar Day - July 19, 2021

Leave a comment