Karen Ibasco Bags Miss Philippines Earth 2017

  • 2 months   ago
  • 2535

Manila’s Karen Ibasco was crowned as the new Miss Philippines Earth on Saturday, July 15, at the Mall of Asia Arena, Pasay City.

Ibasco, a physicist, succeeds Loren Artajos, Miss Philippines Earth 2016, who took on the crown after Imelda Schweighart resigned from her duties in November 2016, following controversial statements that she made. She was also criticized for her failure to qualify in the top 16 of Miss Earth 2016.


Ibasco, “who definitely knows more than just waste management and recycling,” according to some observers, will vie for the Miss Earth pageant in November.

The other winners of the pageant are Vanessa Mae Castillo of Lobo, Batangas, Miss Eco-tourism; Nellza Bautista of Villanueva, Misamis Oriental, Miss Philippines Fire; Jessica Marasigan of Caloocan City, Miss Philippines Water; and Kim de Guzman of Olongapo City, Miss Philippines Air.